Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
My latest find
Posted by: bloinc (86.178.140.---)
Date: April 12, 2014 09:14PM

Hello Everyone
Can anyone give me some info about my latest little gem of a find? - It's called a Kate Carney's Favourite genuine Hohner harmonica. The box top shows a picture of a group of people having a right old knees up.
The instrument is a tremolo key c and has little pipes coming out of the back end of the upper and lower covers.
It seems to be in good condition.
Any ideas as I cannot find any reference to this model - I think that a firm called Weiss made something similar.
Thanks - I'm a newbie and am chuffed in being allowed to join the site/forum.
From Bloinc

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: My latest find
Posted by: yukon (24.144.171.---)
Date: April 15, 2014 10:52PM

Bloinc,
First of all welcome to the site, I personally have never heard of your harp and like you could not find anything about it on the web other than a few pictures, what I did find is this, it is a forum telling different ways to get an about date for hohner harmonicas.[www.slidemeister.com]
It is not much but it is all I came up with for you.

Date: April 18, 2014 09:17PM

Thanks Yukon for your reply and welcome.

Tonight I found some info about the Kate Carney harp in John Whiteman's Harp Anthology - it seems to be a mine of knowledge with hundreds of pictures including some examples of the Kate Carney. Will have to do some more research - the anthology is too much to take in at one go!.

My Kate Carney example is clean but has some pitting at the front of the cover plates - I've given it a quick blow/draw and all reeds respond - shall not play it because it has a wooden comb. I have experienced sore lips trying to play a 10 hole wooden comb 1896/20 solo Marine Band diatonic harp purchased recently. I was surprised how quickly it became swollen and the tines were jagged to the lips -