Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
tunes like.... love me do.????
Posted by: Mike63 (122.107.111.---)
Date: February 19, 2013 05:20AM

hi all
I'm a newbie.I've had harmonicas around me my whole life even as a kid they were a fairly standard birthday or Xmas present but I never really gave it a good go. I wish I was encouraged a bit more earlier on in my way too close to 50 years.

Anyway, I'm now ready to do the hard yards' to do something amazing for myself which of course is learning the harp. I picked it up the other day and hav'nt put it down since. That was only 4 days ago' but I AM LOVING IT!!!

This site is awesome and I've added a few to my favorites' but I'm after something like "Love me do" , something I can rip out. I would not say I've mastered it but I know it well enough to start playing around with it. That's what I want(neeed). I'm developing my method but I think I'm pretty comfortablewith the tounge block. Is that OK??? Or should I be trying the pucker??? Not to say that I hav'nt tried it, but just can't seem to get that happening.

Sorry, I'm clearly woffling on but I just need another hit like the one I get from Love me do by the Beatles. Please help me.

Cheers Mike

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: tunes like.... love me do.????
Posted by: nicky2002 (75.41.69.---)
Date: February 19, 2013 02:46PM

Make sure you practice more then you will be able to do that.

Posted by: WaltP (173.46.189.---)
Date: February 20, 2013 08:31PM

for playing single notes and intervals, tongue blocking is hard to beat. for chords and bending pucker is hard to beat. so, work on both.

Posted by: nicky2002 (75.41.71.---)
Date: February 20, 2013 09:34PM

Practice playing song that are not too easy and not too hard.

Posted by: Bpeters (151.213.219.---)
Date: February 21, 2013 02:13AM

Try giving "Wouldn't it be nice" by the beach boys a try.