Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
How to clean a harmonica?
Posted by: twitch77 (75.163.12.---)
Date: October 20, 2012 04:50AM

Just wondering what the best way to thoroughly clean a harmonica is, with the least risk of damaging anything?

I'd like to clean my Hohner Special 20 (stainless steel cover plates, plastic comb, brass reed plates and reeds) from the inside out, but I don't want to damage any of the combs, or bend them even just slightly.

What's the safest way of doing so? Letting it sit in a cup of water for a day? Taking it apart and very, VERY, gently cleaning it?

Looking forward to hearing proper ways of cleaning my harp(s) (just ordered a suzuki olive! I'm brand new to the world of harmonicas and I'm already addicted! lol).

Thanks guys!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/20/2012 04:51AM by twitch77.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: How to clean a harmonica?
Posted by: EarthDogHarpin (76.251.181.---)
Date: October 20, 2012 10:53PM

To clean diatonic harps with PLASTIC combs (DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS WITH WOOD COMBS!) you can either soak them for about a half hour in a soap and water solution (approximately 2 drops hand diswashing soap such as "Dawn" ) then rinse, rinse, rinse, rinse, rinse some more, tap out the harp, and rinse some more. Rinse! Rinse! Rinse! BEFORE YOU ATTEMPT TO DRAW, make a distilled vineger and water solution (~4 cups water to 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar) and soak/swish the harp in that for a couple of minutes. Then, you guessed it, rinse, rinse, rinse, and rinse some more.

ONLY AFTER you've done the vinegar/water solution rinse followed by a fresh water rinse should you attempt to draw on the harp. Why? Because, and trust me on this, if you don't have every bit of soap out of the harp, when you draw in, you're going to be coughing up your lungs and have a soapy taste in your mouth for quite a while. (Yes, it's most unpleasant.)