Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
New S20
Posted by: Nots36 (---.tys.bellsouth.net)
Date: January 01, 2006 07:12AM

A while ago I posted a question about what new harmonica to get to upgrade from my horner bluesband. The S 20 was highly recommended so I got a brand new S20, same key for comparison. Anyway, I played a few melody lines of songs and the two seemed very similar the S20 had a slightly richer sound maybe, but there didn't seem to be much difference. However, when I started playing the opening solo of "Love Me Do" The S20 outpreformed the bluesband in both sound quality and easy of play. So I guess the more difficult the song is, the better the S20 is.

P.S. The question I have is this. When I got my horner bluesband it was very shiny silver and astetically pleasing. However, after a few months of play the silver color dulled and became a gray color. Obviously the most important thing is the quality of the harp, but I would like to keep my new harmonica looking good. Do any of you know how to keep a harp looking new?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New S20
Posted by: pharpy (---.mob.bellsouth.net)
Date: January 02, 2006 06:12AM

Basically, the grayish tone is from the oxidation of the covers. I don't remember if the Special 20 has the same kind of coverplates or not. Usually, if the covers are plated, you have this issue, but normally, the low-quality plating that oxidizes like this is only used in the cheaper harps. The higher quality harps use either chrome plating, enamel, or stainless steel. These don't tend to discolor as much if at all.

Posted by: pleuksar (---.nas3.gainesville1.fl.us.da.qwest.net)
Date: January 02, 2006 06:19AM

Can you get new cover plates? Or are you better off just getting a new harp?

Posted by: djlactose (---.dyn.optonline.net)
Date: January 02, 2006 07:32AM