Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
New to the harp
Posted by: RunningBear (---.reding01.pa.comcast.net)
Date: November 14, 2005 06:12PM

I am brand new to the harp, only played for about three months now, and I know this is an odd thing to say, but the instrument has changed my life. By the by, anyone know how to break in the 8 draw, I still can't get it right.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New to the harp
Posted by: djlactose (---.dyn.optonline.net)
Date: November 14, 2005 06:27PM

Most likely it is your breathing technic which is hindering you...that or a defective harmonica. What type of harp is it?

Posted by: dstaats (---.lax.untd.com)
Date: November 14, 2005 06:56PM

Welcome to Harptabs, Harpman57. You found one of the best places on the internet for harmonica support... not to mention the gobs of tabs to choose from! (grin)))

I've only been playing for about 3 1/2 months myself. I've never had trouble with the 8 draw. For me, it was the 2 draw, and I fixed much of that by learning how to hold my harp correct & allowing air through my nose as I'm drawing. You might try that on your 8 draw & see if it helps.

I look forward to getting to know you around the forum, Terry. (smile)))

~always Maria.

Posted by: scottishbob (---.stb.ubr12.newt.blueyonder.co.uk)
Date: November 15, 2005 10:34PM

This is the single most important lesson I learned playing the moothie.

Never underestimate the power of breathing correctly.

moothie = harp in scottish

Posted by: RunningBear (---.reding01.pa.comcast.net)
Date: November 18, 2005 04:32PM

Well, I have used the Honer bluesband and pocket pal, and a chicago blues harp. All cheaper ones yes, but everyone swears that using them is the same thing as the more expensive ones. Everything I do sounds great except the 8 draw. I've even taken to tounge blocking the 6and7.

Date: November 19, 2005 09:07PM

Sounds like a bad harp reed to me.