Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Playing backwards
Posted by: gsatgdo (---.234.30.109.Dial1.Miami1.Level3.net)
Date: October 13, 2005 07:11PM

Ever since I started playing the harmonica, I have been holding it so that the low notes ( number one hole is to my right). It seems like everyone else is playing it the other way around ( low notes to the left). I don't know why it would make any difference, the hole numbers come out the same, no matter which way it is oriented. I can play this way without any problems, and if I try to switch it is impossable for me to play because I am so used to playing that way. So are there any disadvantages to playing this way? And are there any other players who do this? or am I the only oddball.
Irv.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Playing backwards
Posted by: pharpy (---.sip.mob.bellsouth.net)
Date: October 13, 2005 10:27PM

My only question would be do you hold the harp in your left hand and fan with your right (as most people who play with the low numbers on the left do), or do you hold it in your right hand and fan with your left (which is the "proper" way if you put the low notes on the right)?

Ultimately, playing the harmonica is about what works for you. Technically, the low notes on the left is correct because (with some exceptions - left-handed models being the primary ones) all musical instruments that run left to right have the notes arranged low on the left to high on the right.

Posted by: gsatgdo (---.234.45.165.Dial1.Miami1.Level3.net)
Date: October 14, 2005 03:06AM