Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
Where to go from C
Posted by: bukem (---.lutn.cable.ntl.com)
Date: December 02, 2009 04:46PM

Hi all,
I've been playing for a few months now, I've got single notes, I can bend but still working on tone, play cords and a few songs ect.
I have a Special 20 in C, which I love, but I've read so much about different harps and I'm keen to try a different model. So I'm going to splash out and buy a Lee Oscar and a Golden melody. My question is should I get them in different keys, I've been considering one in A and one in G. Or should I keep them all in C for now.
Thanks for the advice guys
Martin

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Where to go from C
Posted by: gene (---.ded.swbell.net)
Date: December 03, 2009 06:11AM

Different keys. That way, you'll learn the different feels to playing different keys.

You have a C harp, and that's in the middle of the pitch range. You're contemplating getting an A and a G, which are both at the lower end of the range. Unless you have a specific reason for those two harps, I would recommend buying only the G or the A and also buy a higher-pitched harp. F is a common key, but most new harp players don't like it because of the high pitch. Next to the F in the range would be E, but that key is not very common. You might consider an Eb. It's high in the range and the key is fairly common.

So I'd say either get an A or G,
and
either an F or Eb.

Posted by: yukon (---.zoominternet.net)
Date: December 03, 2009 08:24AM

I agree with gene, unless you need to stay at the lower range, I would go with the G and F, and fill in the rest of the keys as you get more harps.

Posted by: gene (---.ded.swbell.net)
Date: December 03, 2009 09:07AM

When you start buying more harps, refer to the circle of fifths. Start buying harps in the keys that have fewer sharps or flats. These will be the more commonly used keys.

Posted by: bukem (---.lutn.cable.ntl.com)