Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
new at reading tabs
Posted by: dstaats (---.lax.untd.com)
Date: July 31, 2005 02:43PM

Hi, ya got another newbie here... I understand the minus sign as a draw, but sometimes I come across a parentesis () or backslashes //. Are these indicating bends?

Can someone give me an easy definition to a 'bend' & how it's acheived?

I'd appreciate any good info for this beginner.

Thanx,

always Maria.

P.S.: I've been at this a week and not too thrilled w/ my cheapy Kay Chicago Blues Harmonica. I swear, it's already going out of tune! Good news is I sent away for a Hohner Special 20, as I heard that is a decent beginners harp. (smile)))

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: new at reading tabs
Posted by: ORION (---.megared.net.mx)
Date: July 31, 2005 04:51PM

bend is reach a note by changign the flow of air, and you can achived by open your mouth while gradually tilt up your harp.

Posted by: dstaats (---.lax.untd.com)
Date: August 01, 2005 02:23PM

thanx for responding so fast. Since posting this, I've been playing around and think I finally understand the concept of bending notes. For instance, when plucking out the song, "Stairway to Heaven," the 'ven' in heaven, makes a delightful sound, when I sort of speak "heaven" on into the holes 6 -6 (G/A).

Does anybody know what the the parentesis () or backslashes // mean?

~always Maria.

Posted by: pharpy (---.sip.mob.bellsouth.net)
Date: August 01, 2005 02:35PM