Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
DRAW 2
Posted by: HeY_jOe (---.server.ntli.net)
Date: June 06, 2005 08:22AM

I'm a newbie to the harp & found draw2 a bit tricky, I hadn't realised that I was drawing air in through my nose which hindered me. I just placed my daughters swimming nose blocker(is that the right word) on & found the right strength almost immediately, feel free to scoff(go on) but, hey it worked for me.
By the way, NO I do not wear it all the time whilst playingsmiling smiley, took it off after an hour as I'd "got" the technique.

I think a great deal of harp technique is hard to grasp, bit like learning to click your fingers, how do you explain that in words, tricky, you just suddenly "get it".
Hope this helps any newbies(like me) & if your a pro then please post if all the above is not the ideal way, I'm here to learn

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: DRAW 2
Posted by: djlactose (---.dyn.optonline.net)
Date: June 06, 2005 07:18PM

That is a great tip.

Posted by: almosthuman (---.server.ntli.net)
Date: September 03, 2005 10:56PM

If you're just learning the right air pressure to get the note to sound, then that's fine, but don't keep your nose shut forever - you're going to need it.

I've just put this in another post, but one good way to get the 2 draw to sound correctly is to push your tongue towards the front of you mouth until it is almost touching the harmonica and the note will come out true.

The reason I suggest this rather than blocking the nose is that when you are playing a long melody, you can start to run out of breath and need to get more air in your lungs (or out) than you can get through the harp hole. So you need to be able to play with your nose open so you can breathe.

Of course, pulling the tongue to the back of the mouth will help you bend the note, when you need to.

Cheers

Robin

Posted by: dstaats (---.lax.untd.com)
Date: September 04, 2005 04:20PM