Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
lesson for beginners
Posted by: caser555 (---.dyn-adsl.midmaine.net)
Date: December 01, 2006 04:40PM

I am by no means an expert, but readnig through the forums I see a lot of brand new players and I know this helped me when i first learned. When you are learning from the very beginning, don't try to play songs fast. Take your time with them. Take something like Oh susannah and play it one note at a time and worry about speed later. The speed will come with practice. If you try to play fast looking at your first ever tab you can run into frustration and discouragement. So take your time, if you stick with it and practice, you will begin to sound like you might even know what you are doing to someone else.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: lesson for beginners
Posted by: Angus (---.gao.gov)
Date: December 06, 2006 04:29PM

That's good advice, tomcat. I found it helpful to bounce back and forth between learning songs and practicing scales (helps you get down single notes and familiarize yourself with the sound and position of notes, as well as work on your tempo).

Try the C major scale first:
+4 -4 +5 -5 +6 -6 -7 +7 (then play in reverse)

Some playful exercises:
+4 +5 -4 -5 +5 +6 -5 -6 +6 -7 -6 +7 -7 -8 +7
+7 -6 -7 +6 -6 -5 +6 +5 -5 -4 +5 +4 -4 -3 +4
or
+4 +5 +6 -7 +6 +5 (repeat 2x), then
-4 -5 -6 +7 -6 -5 (repeat 2x)

Try playing the C scale at the low end of the harp to learn bends (it's much easier to get a bent note if you have some sense of what it should sound like and playing scales helps with that):
+1 -1 +2 -2'' +3 -3'' -3 +4 (then play in reverse)

If, like me, you don't have a naturally good ear and can't just pick the right notes naturally, practicing scales will enable you to almost effortlessly find missing notes or keep playing without thinking too much.