HarpTabs.com :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have ideas for the website? Like the way something works? Don't like something? Let us know here. 
ideas
Posted by: RollinRevue (---.msn.com)
Date: November 20, 2005 03:06AM

Hi! I am a newbie on the site, but a (relativly) experianced harp player. I like this site. I sure will get to learn more songs, and be entertained too!! I think that it might be helpfull if when we post harp tabs that we include the position that that the song is in. i.e. 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 12th, ect. As far as timing goes, I think that any particular song's timing goes we probably already have the song on some media and will try to do the song like that. Lets not complicate the notation any more than we have to.

thanks. Pat the Harp Rat

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: ideas
Posted by: djlactose (---.dyn.optonline.net)
Date: November 20, 2005 07:45AM

If everyone thinks this is an important thing to have I can added it. I will put it on the ever growing list lol.

Posted by: pharpy (---.mob.bellsouth.net)
Date: November 20, 2005 05:23PM

While it could be helpful to people who know a little bit more about harp playing and music theory, people like me (who know just enough to be dangerous) wouldn't (and probably don't) have a clue what position over half of what they post is in. I know I certainly fit in that category. Not saying it's not a good idea, but for the most part, I'm not sure it would get used much.

Posted by: dstaats (---.lax.untd.com)
Date: November 20, 2005 05:23PM

I'm going to sound a little like Frank here (giggle))) but, I think that a feature listing position is one of those that might not be used soo much. Simply because beginners don't necessarily understand the wheel of fifths. I made a study of it, when I was trying to get a grip on all aspects of harmonica playing, but not everybody is quite as obsessive as me. lol