Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Online lessons
Posted by: oldblues (99.119.246.---)
Date: December 06, 2015 10:21PM

Hey everyone,
I'm just starting out and need some advice on who or what website I should check out for online lessons? Also which harp I should buy?
Thanks in advance for any tips.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Online lessons
Posted by: Marcy (96.4.231.---)
Date: December 07, 2015 03:21PM

I can recommend Howard Levy’s lessons at artistworks.com. I especially like them because Mr. Levy teaches lots of styles in addition to blues. I play mainly old time or folk and have learned tons over there.
If you’re only into blues, and want mainly free lessons, check out Tomlin Lecky’s youtube channel. It’s full of great stuff.
As for a good harp, you won’t go wrong with a Hohner special 20 to start off with. There are lots of good ones out there, and it’s fun to try a variety, but that one is affordable and well made.
I bet there will be lots of other great suggestions. Best of luck and have fun getting started!

Marcy
[www.youtube.com]

Posted by: oldblues (99.119.246.---)
Date: December 07, 2015 09:39PM

Hi Marcy,
Howard Levy was one of the three I was interested in. I was also looking at J.P. Allen and Dave Gage. Howard Levy seems to have a better back ground from what I can tell.

Posted by: yukon (24.144.160.---)
Date: December 12, 2015 11:42AM