Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
faulty special 20 or just prefference/inexperience
Posted by: mojo-joejoe (83.87.254.---)
Date: April 16, 2015 09:36PM

Hello

I'm a beginner, playing for a little less than a year on a Marine Band key C and a Special 20 key C.

From what i read everywhere the special 20 should be more airtight, easier to bend etc but I don't share that experience. It's difficult to describe (at least for a beginner like me), but it feels like every note on my special 20 requires 'more air', for the note to start. Especially on the bends I notice there's air without tone coming first, while my marine band just basically instantly hits the tone. Even though according to what I read, the bending should be easier on the special 20.

Is this just a matter of prefference. Or inexperienced technique? Or is this a bad luck harp which i should open up and try to fix.
Main reason i'm asking is because I want to buy 1 or 2 more keys, and i'm debating which type to get. If this is just how it is I'll definitly go Marine Band, but if its a faulty harp issue, I'd risk getting another special 20.

Thanks in advance!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: faulty special 20 or just prefference/inexperience
Posted by: Harmlessonica (2.30.154.---)
Date: April 17, 2015 10:09PM

Hi, sounds like your Sp20 reeds are gapped too wide.

This page has a basic description about reed gaps. Googling the subject will come up with many more.

Essentially, if the gaps are high, it will take more breath force to sound a note. Some say that the Sp20 is set deliberately high because many beginners like to play hard...

I don't know about particular models being any easier to bend than others; more likely the key will make more difference, then perhaps the setup (careful gapping can help).

If you do decide to adjust gaps, remember that the reeds are easily bent out of shape so just ease them gently and take your time.