Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Dead Harps
Posted by: meanon (85.0.89.---)
Date: December 11, 2014 12:59PM

I have been playing for about 5 years and now have a selection of Dead Harps.
It is always a draw reed and always either a 4 or 5 hole.

I used to buy mainly Lee Oskars because the music shop in town stocked the replacement reed sets. Not any longer. The shop has closed down.

I like Hohner Special 20's because these are easy to play, having a recessed reed plate. They are a bit rough cut and raucous, but more fun to play, than the Suzukis I have also been buying. That's what is referred to as character. I find the Suzukis very good but too refined (and just too expensive) if they have to be replaced often. The Lee Oskars were also good and I still have some odd ones left.

I guess I play too hard.

Talking of 'dead', this site also isn't all that lively these days. smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Dead Harps
Posted by: beads (107.136.17.---)
Date: December 12, 2014 12:11AM

Rockin Rons sells reed plates at a reasonable price. Ships them fast and free. That's were I get mine.
[rockinronsmusicsd.com]

Posted by: meanon (85.0.89.---)
Date: January 16, 2015 12:48PM

OK. Thanks for the information. I looked around at the prices. The Suzuki MR350v was definitely worth repairing and I ordered replacement reed plates from a firm in England, because I can't get these locally . . .
[www.theharmonicacompany.com]

With the others, the cost savings are not so great, and in most cases, I have already got a complete new replacement.

Posted by: railjumper (172.7.230.---)
Date: February 27, 2015 02:15AM

Do you want to sell the dead harps? What all do you have? Message me or reply here, or do both.

The date shows I posted this on the 27th. And it's still the 26th. I'm a time traveler!!

I went and checked my time setting. I guess it changed somehow. I reset it. I'm back from the future.