Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Bending
Posted by: DragonZ151 (98.225.8.---)
Date: January 25, 2013 06:06AM

Hello i'm a beginner and i want to play some other songs but the include bending and i can't do can some one help?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bending
Posted by: gene (Moderator)
Date: January 25, 2013 05:28PM

Proper embouchure is important.

Start with the draw 4 (just 'cuz it's easier).
As you draw, slowly articulate the word "you." At some point, the note will bend. Remember your mouth, tongue and jaw position so you can go right to it next time (or after some practicing).
Do the same on -3, -2, -1 and -6. The lower the note - the lower you need to drop your jaw.

Remember - Draw 2 has two bends and draw 3 has 3 bends. (Those three bends are kinda hard to find.)

Posted by: DragonZ151 (98.225.8.---)
Date: January 26, 2013 07:00PM

Hey thanks i think i got it but i'll keep practicing.smiling smiley

Posted by: martinjw1959 (86.152.165.---)
Date: February 08, 2013 07:19PM

This is the best bending tip I have come across. I was struggling with the 2 and 3 draw but this has helped a lot. Thank you!smiling smiley

Posted by: gene (Moderator)
Date: February 08, 2013 08:35PM

cool smiley

I got that description from some David Barrett material.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 02/08/2013 08:39PM by gene.

Posted by: harmusman (82.44.234.---)
Date: February 23, 2013 05:08PM