Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
So, what harps do you own?
Posted by: twitch77 (174.22.33.---)
Date: October 28, 2012 03:16AM

I'm just starting out in the world of harmonicas and I'm already wanting to start collecting harps! lol
So far I have a Hohner Special 20 (SO easy to play!!!) and a Suzuki Olive (not as easy to play as my 20, but man does it feel great, sound good and look amazing! I LOVE my olive) both in the key of C.
My next harp is going to be another Olive in the key of G, then I want a special 20 in the key of A, a Suzuki Promaster (not valved...lol I can't even bend yet!) and a Seydel Session Steel (that orange comb calls to me!).
I'm looking to pick up these new harps within the next month (I can hardly put the 2 I already own down! I've had SO much fun over the last month learning!).

So...what's in your collection, and what harps are you planning on purchasing soon?

This can be a bit of a bragging thread grinning smiley It's fun to talk about nice things we own from time to time hehe.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: So, what harps do you own?
Posted by: ,,, (24.209.131.---)
Date: October 28, 2012 04:03AM

In what way do you consider the olive more difficult than the special 20?

Also, I guess YMMV, but I've found the G harp to be the most difficult to play of all they keys I have. I think some of that is due to Hohner's general inconsistent quality, but still, I wouldn't really recommend having the model that's more difficult for you so far to be the one you get in G. But again, maybe that's just me...

I have every kind you mentioned except the olive, I'll tell you how I feel about them if that helps you decide what to get next:

Promaster-- feels great, plays great, sounds great, and bending is almost too easy. My harp of choice so far. I've heard nothing good about the valves, keep away from those.