Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
draw on the 2 hole is broken
Posted by: Nots36 (---.tys.bellsouth.net)
Date: December 09, 2005 12:39AM

Hi, i just started playing harmonica about a month or so ago and I started off with a 10 hole Horner BluesBand in the key of C. Anyway It seems to be playing fine except for the draw on the 2 hole. Everytime I got to play a -2 it just sounds awful. Is there anyway to examine the harmonica to see if there is something wrong with it?

Thanks for your help.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: draw on the 2 hole is broken
Posted by: pharpy (---.sip.mob.bellsouth.net)
Date: December 09, 2005 12:54AM

It could just be the harp, but the draw 2 is a hard hole to play. Also, keep in mind it's a G, not an F. It's tuned to match the blow 3. You may also be unintentionally bending the note which can sometimes be corrected by breathing in through your nose at the same time as drawing through the harp. The other option is to unscrew the coverplates and see if anything is blocking the reed.

Posted by: scottishbob (---.ipt.aol.com)
Date: December 10, 2005 12:07AM

On a C harmonica, the draw 2 is the hardest unbent note to play.

I still fake and blow 3 when I am forgetfull, because I didn't play the draw 2 well for my first couple of years, and I just forget the note exists sometimes.

Zephyrazure said recently about breathing, and it is written again above and it really is a great tip, as you draw 2 open up the airways and breathe in through our nose at the same time. Imagine your nose and mouth are one single airway.Whilst this lets you run out of breath very quickly, it also helps the note sound.

Honest. This is at first sight an easy thing to do, but is one of the most important step improvements in your harmonica playing.

Date: December 10, 2005 03:51AM