Harmonica Chat :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Come here to talk all about harmonicas. 
Dumb Newb Question
Posted by: LackofDiscipline (---.hsd1.wa.comcast.net)
Date: December 17, 2010 09:30AM

Hey guys (and gals) - here's THE dumbest question of the week. So i am new to the Harp and i like the tabs that I see - BUT - I have no friggin idea how to read the tabs???? what does -3 mean vs *3? etc etc...

Is there a main post that gives me a key to follow for the tabs? I've played guitar and bass most of my life and They include tab notations with the tabs. Or do these and i just missed 'em like the placenta stinking newb I am?

Any help or light in the dark would help this poor misguided soul smiling smiley

In advance Thank you.....Andy

Ps- any harp players out my way I'd love to meet up and learn some stuff in person....

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Dumb Newb Question
Posted by: cjd (---.perm.iinet.net.au)
Date: December 17, 2010 11:10AM

Hi Andy,

Firstly, welcome.

Secondly, the following is in the "Tab Guide" I found on the main menu. I think it is what you are after.

+ = blow note
- = draw note
b or ' = halfstep bend
bb or '' = two halfstep bend
bbb or ''' = three halfstep bends
(###) = chords (relevant hole numbers placed within parentheses)
< = means push the button in (for chromatic harmonica tabs)
Example: On a C harp, there are 4 draw notes on hole 3 (-3=B, -3'=Bb,
-3''=A, -3'''=Ab)

Others may chip in and add some more info especially about the bends, half steps and other things. In short "-" you draw, nothing or "+" you blow on the corresponding numbered hole on the harmonica.

Hope this helps.

CD

Posted by: cjd (---.perm.iinet.net.au)
Date: December 17, 2010 11:18AM

By the way Andy,

I was not a dumb question and you would need to be in Australia to meet up with me, but I don’t think I would be much good to you. I believe I am still hopeless on this magical instrument. Still, I have fun with it annoying the dog, cat, children and wife.