Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
I need help on fast sequnces
Posted by: Texas (---.lightspeed.hstntx.sbcglobal.net)
Date: July 26, 2010 05:08AM

Hey, I've been playing for about a year now and
I've got some experience on some songs, but when it comes to a change in tempo
for a short/long period, I just can't seem to do that if I attempt to I become all tangled in blow/draw notes.
What I'm really asking for is what are some techniques/practices that I could do to get used to changing speeds in songs.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: I need help on fast sequnces
Posted by: gene (---.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net)
Date: July 26, 2010 06:48AM

Play those passages slowly over and over. As it becomes easier, speed up a little. You'll be developing "muscle memory." If you do it this way, those passages will be more playable to you a lot sooner than you think.

Here are some exercises:
http://www.harptabs.com/song.php?ID=2527

Post Edited (2010-07-26 02:59:23)

Posted by: WaltP (---.pghkny.east.verizon.net)
Date: July 26, 2010 09:07PM

I find that tongue blocking and switching allow very fast jumps over many different intervals. And flipping your tongue from one side to the other also allows for a bit of "punch" or attack at the beginning of the note.

Posted by: MRR0B0T0XD (---.ri.ri.cox.net)
Date: August 02, 2010 04:13PM

I think Gene's idea is the best idea.

Posted by: God (---.80-203-226.nextgentel.com)
Date: August 20, 2010 08:31PM

You could also do the universal solution. Play scales up and down while you tap a rythm with your foot. Then you practice changing playing speed in sync with the change of the rythm.