Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
diatonic or chromatic
Posted by: ROY (---.direct-adsl.nl)
Date: July 12, 2010 10:24PM

hey people,

i want to buy a harmonica, but which one should i buy?
Should i buy a diatonic or a chromatic harmonica?
On which you van play the most songs? And which is the best for beginners?

thanxwinking smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: diatonic or chromatic
Posted by: gene (---.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net)
Date: July 12, 2010 10:42PM

It depends, I guess, on what kind of music you want to play.

Chromatics are more expensive, but if you want diatonic, you'll need several keys. I have a full set of diatonics and a chromatic. I hardly mess with the chromatic.

Here's another thread about this subject.

Posted by: IanKnights (---.bb.sky.com)
Date: July 13, 2010 03:18PM

Hi Koen.

I have been playing diatonic harps for 6 months now. I currently have 12 harps with two more on order, so be warned, it is HIGHLY addictive!!!

As for diatonic or chromatic, it's a personal choice and only one you yourself can make. Obviously, whichever one you choose doesn't mean you can't have the other at some point in the future. I may venture into chromatics next year....!

Welcome to the wonderful world of Harmonicas!!

Posted by: sydundar (95.7.129.---)
Date: October 23, 2010 03:49PM

Hi everybody

I am playing a C key diatonic harmonica(10 hole) about 4 weeks. Now i can play some simple songs. But i want to play chromatic harmonica too.

But i dont know which harmonica i should buy chromatic 10 hole? 12 hole? Most of the chromatic harmonicas are 12 hole, so i am confused which is better. if i buy 12 hole chromatic , could i play it?

I dont know what is the differences between 10 , 12 ,16 or etc holes of harmonicas. Can anyone tell me the differences of hole numbers.

Posted by: Tobbe (---.customer.t3.se)
Date: October 26, 2010 07:46PM

Take a look here, it might help you smiling smiley