Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
Third hole draw sounds odd
Posted by: MHTSOS (---.sun9.vic.optusnet.com.au)
Date: May 04, 2009 10:29AM

Hi everyone! Firstly let me say I am a complete beginner to harmonica's. I stumbled upon the site which has helped me a lot and the forum has an impressive amount of helpful posts! I've spent the last week or so just lurking around reading posts and tips and you guys make everything incredibly easy!

Now to my problem. I bought a lee Oskar Major Diatonic Harmonica on the weekend and everything seems fine apart from hole three. When I blow into it, everything sounds fine and I get a nice wavy tone, however when I draw, it takes a lot of effort to make a sound and I either get a high pitch shriek or a sound somewhat to a kazoo rather than the nice wavy harmonica tone. It is actualy impossible for me to go from hole 4 to hole 3 as I literaly have to suck it in to make a sound and that not only doesn't sound right, but it also puts the song out of alignment considering the force that it needs to even get a normal sound.

I'm just wondering if one of the reeds may be damaged. It is a brand new harmonica and although I am no beginner, I used to play a clarinet many years ago so this note and the force needed just doesn't seem right.

So I'm just asking for any tips. Is there an easy fix or is this a common thing? Or should I just take it back and have it replaced?

Thank you all kindly both for reading my long post and for any help you can give, along with all the help you have already contributed here which has helped me a great deal!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Third hole draw sounds odd
Posted by: ricanefan (---.metlife.com)
Date: May 04, 2009 05:36PM

Welcome aboard, Jim. I'm sure you'll get more and better answers than this, but here's someplace to start. (And this will be more general than specific to a Lee Oskar.)