Lessons :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
Have a tip that you want to share? Put it here. 
Pages: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: How to Read Tabs
Posted by: chibluesteve (---.hsd1.mn.comcast.net)
Date: July 28, 2007 02:51AM

The easiest tab system works like this.

Diatonic

2 = blow the 2 hole
-2 = draw the 2 hole
-2' = draw the 2 hole with a half bend
-2" = draw the 2 hole with a full bend

Chromatic

2 = blow the 2 hole
-2 = draw the 2 hole
<2 = blow the 2 hole with the button in
<-2 = draw the 2 hole with the button in

This is the system I use. It is easier to use than other systems that use more charactors

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: pauldapigeon (---.adsl-pool.dravanet.hu)
Date: June 13, 2010 12:36PM

Hey!

I'm pretty new at playing the harp, and i wanted to learn singing in the rain, but the first note or chord i'm not sure what it is got me confused. can you guys help me figure this out?

79 8 -8 7 -6
Singing in the rain,

Is it possible that the 79 is a chord 7 through 9, or just 7 and 9, or what?

Posted by: WaltP (---.pghkny.east.verizon.net)
Date: June 13, 2010 03:04PM

I would treat it as a grace note, it kind of works if you just touch it and then tongue-switch to the 9. Or get to the 9 as fast as possible however you can. The trick is to just barely sound the 7 before the beat. At least that's my take on it.

Posted by: Werkis2 (95.68.90.---)
Date: June 13, 2010 07:25PM

well i to put in one of my tabs 6w - W for whistle and T for throat vibrato

Posted by: railjumper (---.dsl.hstntx.swbell.net)
Date: July 28, 2010 05:46AM

I like the -4' for half bend and -4" for full bend. I also like the tab on top. That's my vote.

Posted by: Werkis2 (95.68.85.---)
Date: July 30, 2010 08:32AM

Ya but there is a one old tabbing system 4> for blow and 4 for draw yak i hate that , but i sometimes use harpy to convert for multiple harmonicas and its double work sad smiley because of it also # is over blow there

i prefer