Reviews :  Harptabs.com The fastest message board... ever.
In here you will find reviews of harmonicas and harmonica related products done by our members. 
Hohner Blues Bender
Posted by: IanKnights (---.bb.sky.com)
Date: January 29, 2010 04:01PM

Hi all.

I am new to the harmonica, having got a cheap "Made in China" harp with basic instruction book for Christmas 2009.

However, I am so into this instrument I have already bought a Marine Band to replace the cheapy (cos it started to pack up!)

The MB sounds fab and is much easier and nicer to play. However, I am still having trouble bending notes and feel whilst I am still a newbie I should buy another C harp that will be easier for me to learn more techniques on. I have read loads of stuff about all manner of harps and am leaning toward a Lee Oskar, Suzuki Bluesmaster or Hohner Special 20. But before I part with my hard earned cash, has anyone got any 1st hand experience of the Hohner Blues Bender? It appears to be a fairly new edition to the market in the UK and claims to be "easy" to bend the lower notes.

I am dead keen to get to grips with bending notes so really need a harp that will be easier for a novice like me to do so.

Any views/commments would be most welcome.

Thanks.

P.S. This is my 1st post and I would just like to say this forum in itself has encouraged me to play more and more. The tabs are FANTASTIC!

Post Edited (2010-07-22 15:48:39)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Hohner Blues Master
Posted by: gene (---.swbell.net)
Date: January 29, 2010 04:36PM

Oh, no...Here we go again. :p
Everybody's going to come to this thread to talk about their favorite brand, and I sure plea guilty to that.

Suzuki Promasters are my favorite, and I believe they have a reputation for being easy to bend. (I think Suzuki Bluesmasters are the same harp, but with a plastic comb instead of metal...But I'm not sure. You might want to read about their reeds and reed plates to find out.)